Retour liste des intervenants

Mustapha Cherif

Mustapha Cherif is a University professor, a philosopher and Islamic scholar. As a thinker, he works for the culture of peace, for human brotherhood and for an open Islam. He is the author of more than twenty books. He centers his works on the concepts of the middle way and the living together.

He has been a visiting professor at Universities around the world, among them the Collège de France. Founder of the International Master in Muslim Civilization at the Open University of Catalonia and member of worldwide forums of civilizational, religious and cultural dialogue. He is Doctor of Letters in philosophy at the University of Toulouse and Doctor of sociology at the EHESS of Paris.

Mustapha Cherif, artisan of the interreligious dialogue, has cofounded and co-chaired the Islamic-Christian Friendship Group in France and cofounded the Worlds Islamic-Catholic Forum in Rome with the Pontifical council for an interreligious dialogue. He is the only intellectual Muslim in the world to have been received successively by the popes John Paul II, Benedict XVI and Francis.

His thinking wants to be median for today. His books are explicit, like : The Koran and our time, The Prophet and our time, Exit the extremes, The principle of the middle way and Emir Abd-el-Kader, apostle of brotherhood.

He is the winner of the UNESCO award of Arabic culture and cultural dialogue and of the Italian award of Peace culture. The Royal Center of Amman, distinguishes him the last five years as being among the 500 most influential Muslims in the world in the field of culture and education. He is the descendant of a Sufi lineage.

Retour liste des intervenants

Mustapha Cherif

Mustapha Cherif, professeur des Universités, est  philosophe et islamologue. Penseur, il œuvre pour la culture de la paix, la fraternité humaine et l’islam de l’ouvert. Il est l’auteur d’une vingtaine d’ouvrages. Il centre ses travaux sur les concepts du juste milieu et du vivre ensemble.

Il a été professeur invité dans des universités à travers le monde, notamment au Collège de France. Fondateur du Master International en Civilisation musulmane de l’Université Ouverte de Catalogne et membre de Forums mondiaux sur le dialogue des civilisations, des religions et des cultures. Il est Docteur ès lettres en philosophie de l’Université de Toulouse et docteur en sociologie de l’EHESS de Paris.

Mustapha Cherif artisan du dialogue interreligieux, a cofondé et coprésidé le Groupe d’Amitié Islamo-Chrétienne en France et cofondé le Forum mondial islamo-catholique à Rome auprès du Conseil pontifical pour le dialogue interreligieux. Il est le seul intellectuel musulman dans le monde à avoir été reçu, successivement, par les papes Jean-Paul II, Benoît XVI et François.

Sa pensée se veut médiane pour aujourd’hui. Ses livres sont explicites tels : Le Coran et notre temps, Le Prophète et notre temps, Sortir des extrêmes, Le principe du juste milieu et l’Émir Abdelkader apôtre de la fraternité.

Il est Lauréat du prix UNESCO de la culture arabe et du dialogue des cultures et du prix italien de la culture de la paix. Le Centre Royal d’Amman, le distingue, depuis cinq années parmi les 500 intellectuels musulmans les plus influents dans le monde dans le domaine de la culture et de l’éducation. Il est le descendant d’une lignée de soufis.